Louise Sauvage was recognised as Paralympian of the Year

The Australian Paralympian of the Year Awards was introduced by the then Australian Paralympic Federation in 1994 to recognise the outstanding achievements of Australia’s Paralympic athletes. Louise Sauvage won the first awards and was the popular choice again in 1996 after her performance at the Atlanta Paralympic Games, where she won 4 gold medals and every event in her class from 400m to 5000m.