The medals started coming on the first day for Australia at the cycling

Competition in track cycling traditionally starts on the day after the opening ceremony, with heats in the morning and medal rounds in the afternoon and evening. Australia’s women tandem teams led the charge at the Beijing summer Paralympics when (left to right) sighted pilot Toireasa Gallagher and Lindy Hou won bronze behind the silver of Felicity Johnson and and her pilot Katie Parker in the 1km time trial. The gold medal went to the British combination of Aileen McGlynn and pilot Ellen Hunter.