It was to be the final Games for lawn bowls

After being introduced at the Paralympics in 1968, lawn bowls was included for the final time in 1996 (it was not part of the 1992 program either). Australia had a fine record in the sport, winning medals every time it was contested, except the very first, with gold medals at every Games from 1972 to 1988. The Australian lawn bowls team at the 1996 summer Paralympics kept the medal winning tradition alive, with June Clark winning silver and Pauline Cahill bronze in the women’s singles LB3-5 event. The team posed for a photo before the start of play. Standing L to R: Neville Millington, June Clark, Pauline Cahill, John Forsberg, Graeme Clark (coach). Seated: Robert Tinker